Popped Culture by Dan LuVisi (15 Photos)

poppedculture (6)

L.A. based digital artist, Dan LuVisi, has created an interesting concept in which he basically destroys our fondest memories of our childhood cartoons. In his upcoming series titled “Popped Culture”, LuVisi will transform iconic pop culture characters into criminals and demons.

Characters from the Simpsons, Muppets, Disney and Sesame Street were all mutated by LuVisi’s dark vision. When asked about the inspiration behind this project he responded:

I was inspired by my childhood nostalgia, growing up on Disney and Nickelodeon cartoons.” But what my intentions were to do, was combine that love with the dark underbelly of Hollywood and how it corrupts some of its many actors and actresses.

I know, the characters I am painting are gross, scary and dark. But I am not a crazy person,” LuVisi writes on his blog in defense of his work. “I have two lovely cats (okay, may be semi-crazy), and I like to think I’m an okay guy.

Prints will be available for purchase through his blog site in preparation for his upcoming collaboration with Alex Konstad, “Popped Culture.”  To see more of Dan LuVisi upcoming artwork, check out his website.

.

Check out gallery below

(Click to enlarge)

 

 

 

 

.

.

source: BP via Huffington Post

Leave a Reply

